Christmas show and tell

White House Christmas tree, 1947

 
It was always a tradition growing up that the first day of public school in January was primarily an exercise in bragging about our various Christmas presents. Strangely enough, I still have a few friends where a form of this tradition still exists and I don’t see why it cannot also be done here. Of course, thanks to my personal interest it’s relatively relatable to the land of punditocracy. Thus I present to you my book score for this holiday season, which I assure you no one was more excited to see than I:  
 

Remedy and Reaction: The Peculiar American Struggle over Health Care Reform. Paul Starr

– Pretty much at the top of my list for book requests, Remedy and Reaction presents the short version of the history of health care in America and how we got to where we are today. Paul Starr was a major player behind the Clinton adminstration’s failed health care reform measure, and has a perspective about this issue that jives well with where I stand. I respect his opinion, and even if you don’t agree with where he’s coming from, he deserves your respect too.  
 

Liberalism Ancient and Modern. Leo Strauss

– I’ve wanted to read more of Strauss for awhile now, especially some of his essays on ‘liberal education.’ It’s been on the backburner for too long.  
 

Inside National Health Reform. John E. McDonough

– If you were of the persuasion to really dig into the meaty details of the Affordable Care Act, then this book is for you. McDonough is a health policy expert who spent some time as an advisor to the late Senator Kennedy and from all accounts does a masterful job of weaving the complex narrative web behind the landmark health care reform bill.  
 
*Meta Note: My apologies for the premature posting of this late last night. It was literally an accidental click. BUT! I’ve included Amazon links since then, so there you go.

Leave a Reply

