Politicking in the age of Facebook

I just thought I’d share with you a status update from my incumbent Congressional Representative’s reelection campaign outreach on Facebook. If there’s one major, bipartisan, change that has come from the ’08 election cycle it’s the need for campaigns to have an active social networking presence. I feel as though such a statement is obvious, and obnoxious, but sometimes the banality of campaign speech catches me off guard when it includes “If you support my policy position, click the ‘Like’ button.”

* Side Note: The absurdity of these statements kill me. You won’t have to buy health insurance. You don’t have to buy a Chevy Volt. Yet buying either lowers your federal tax liability relative to not buying (via the absence of a tax credit or penalty).

Leave a Reply

