It’s the end of the year as we know it…

734px-PS_Krøyer_-_Hip_hip_hurra!_Kunstnerfest_på_Skagen_1888

And I feel, better? Well, better than I did this time last year. I wasn’t being hyperbolic when I wrote that “blog matters are in flux.” Then, I was a week removed from a big move down to the Sunshine State powered by a final paycheck prayer, and with my last few dollars thrown in that final gas fill-up on the Florida Turnpike. A year later and I’ve finally cobbled together something along the lines of a (more) secure life for myself and my family.

How is this blog-related? Well, this project isn’t only fueled by internet frustration and coffee. The turmoil offline had a cost, which helps explain the approximately forty percent decrease in posts in 2014 compared to the year prior (60 versus 149, respectively). Being a college student is much more conducive to maintaining a regular blog presence than being a full-time day dad and part/full-time low-end service worker at night. I’ve also found that breaking up your sleep schedule into two cycles is hell on your productivity.

But I was not alone, nor forgotten, in all this. I can’t properly express my gratitude for the people that reached out this year with advice and kind words. You folks are champions of amity in a normally vitriolic land of strangers. Thank you.

That being written and all, after forty-two months, I’m still here. And so are you. The most popular post from this year was “Do what you love is a solution to a privileged problem,” a response with commentary to the Miya Tokumitsu essay in Jacobin Magazine on the perverseness of DWYL and the culture of work. I still believe that commodified middle-class work culture kitsch does nothing more than increase social distance from the precariat, who never really had a choice — except to fight back for what really matters.

This was also the year I went full-yolo on supporting a basic income guarantee, which probably clarifies why “Daydreaming of a universal basic income” was my second most popular piece. I compared the idea to fantasizing about winning the lottery because, at some point, many of us realize it’s the closest we’ll come to a true-blue chance at income security — or at actually doing what you love while keeping food on the table.

I wrote last year that I don’t typically use this time to be particularly reflective, but this time around I doubt that’s the whole truth. Tonight I’ll get off of work and still rush home to be with my family as the old calendar gets tossed. There’ll be a pause where I feel grateful for what I have, knowing how much further I could still fall, and hoping I get to be fortunate enough to have more to lose this year than in the past. At the very least I’ll accumulate more love, warm memories, and yes, more words here. I wish the same for you. Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

